Your private city guide in Rome

Silent Rome


Already in the Middle Ages pilgrims arrived in Rome along the Via Francigena from England in order to visit the seven pilgrim’s churches. In addition to these seven churches, Rome is caracterized by many other medieval “silent churches”, which are not so well known by tourists, but which can show us Christian art and revive the feeling of those times.


Even today along the Appian Way we find huge mausoleums, tombs and ruins of imperial villas and some of the city’s 60 existing catacombs. Only by visiting one of these early Christian cemeteries will your stay in Rome be complete because here you will understand how the early Christians thought.


Please click on the picture for further informations.



  • Christian Rome

    1. Churches of the counter reformation: Il Gesù, San Ignazio, Sant’Andrea della Valle

    2. Bernini and Borromini: San Carlino, Sant’Andrea al Quirinale, Santa Maria della Vittoria, Sant’Ivo alla Sapienza

    3. The great Papal Basilicas: San Giovanni in Laterano with the Holy Stairs and the baptistery, Santa Maria Maggiore and Saint Paul Outside the Walls

    4…and much more…


  • A walk on some of the hills of Rome

    A quiet and romantic Rome away from the noisy chaos of downtown and yet very central. On the Aventine and the Celio hill secret spots, beautiful views and medieval churches as well as the underground of Rome are waiting to be discovered.


  • Pilgrims’ paths

    Among the seven pilgrim churches you understand those churches of Rome, whose visit was expected from an early Christian pilgrim travelers. They were all within one day walk and all the pilgrim´s indulgences were promised.


  • Trastevere

    Trastevere – trans Tiberim meaning over the Tiber – with its picturesque, narrow streets and small piazzas, excellent bakeries and traditional trattorias is famous for its vibrant atmosphere. The pace of life tends to be slow during the day but comes to life in the evening.

    It was not originally part of Rome, being Etruscan territory. Some of the earliest Christian churches were built in Trastevere. Already in the 4th century we find the names of St Crisogono, St Maria and St Cecilia in Trastevere.


  • The Old Appian Way

    The Old Appian Way was considered to be the “Queen of Roads”. The historian Tacitus called it “the most beautiful illustrated history book.”

    The Old Appian Way is a narrow paved road flanked by rows of graceful pine trees and studded with ruins and ancient tombs. The road runs through an attractive landscape, which has been spared the prolific construction seen elsewhere in the city. With its catacombs and the Quo Vadis Church, the Old Appian Way is also an important part of Christian Rome.

Ihr privater Stadtführer in Rom

Das besinnliche Rom


Beriets im Altertum kamen die Pilgereisenden aus England über die Via Francigena nach Rom, um die sieben Pilgerkirchen zu besuchen. Neben den sieben großen Pilgerkirchen gibt es in Rom jedoch auch viele weitere mittelalterliche „besinnliche“ Kirchen, die das Stadtbild prägen. Diese sind vielleicht den meisten Touristen gar nicht bekannt, aber sie geben uns einen Einblick in die christlichen Künste und lassen uns in eine frühere Zeit eintauchen.


Auch heutzutage findet man entlang der Via Appia noch die Grabmäler, Mausoleen, Ruinen von Kaiservillen und einige der über 60 Katakomben der Stadt Rom. Nur der Besuch einer dieser frühchristlichen Friedhöfe macht einen Rombesuch komplett, da nur so einen Einblick in die Gedanken und Vortsellungen der ersten Christen erhält.


Bitte klicken Sie auf das Bild für weitere Informationen.


  • Christliche Rom

    1. Kirchen der Gegenreformation: Il Gesù, San Ignazio, Sant’Andrea della Valle

    2. Bernini und Borromini: San Carlino, Sant’Andrea al Quirinale, Santa Maria della Vittoria, Sant’Ivo alla Sapienza

    3. Die großen Papstbasiliken: San Giovanni in Laterano mit der Heiligen Stiege und der Taufkapelle, Santa Maria Maggiore und Sankt Paul vor den Mauern

    4…und viele weitere…


  • Ein Hügelspaziergang

    Ein ruhiges und romantisches Rom fern vom lauten Chaos der Innenstadt und doch ganz zentral. Auf dem Aventin und dem Celiohügel warten verborgene Winkel, schöne Aussichten, mittelalterliche Kirchen und das unterirdische Rom darauf, entdeckt zu werden.


  • Pilgerreisen

    Unter den sieben Pilgerkirchen versteht man diejenigen Kirchen der Stadt Rom, deren Besuch von einem frühchristlichen Pilgerreisenden erwartet wurde. Sie waren innerhalb eines Tages zu Fuß zu erreichen, dem Pilger wurden für diese Reise Ablässe versprochen.


  • Trastevere

    Jenseits des Tibers – Trastevere – erstreckt sich der Bezirk , der das traditionelle, volkstümliche Rom verkörpert. Dort entstanden einige der ersten christlichen Kirchen; schon im 4. Jahrhundert begegnen uns die Namen dreier „tituli“: San Crisogono, Santa Maria und Santa Cecilia in Trastevere.

    Mit seinen schönen Plätzen, kleinen Gassen, köstlichen Bäckereien und traditionellen Trattorien hat Trastevere einen ganz besonderen Charme.  Abends verwandelt es sich zum pulsierenden Trendviertel der Italiener und Touristen.


  • Die Via Appia Antica

    Die Via Appia Antica galt als „Königin der Straßen“. Tacitus nannte sie „das schönste illustrierte Geschichtsbuch“. Die Straße führt einen sowohl zur kleine Kirche „Domine quo Vadis“, als auch zu den mehreren Katakomben, die außerhalb der Stadtmauer liegen. Entlang der Via Appia erreicht man weiters die Ruinen des Circus des Maxentius, das Grab der Caecilia Metella, die Villa dei Quintili Ruinen und kleine Grabmälern unterschiedlichster Art.