Your private city guide in Rome

Hidden Treasures


Under the actual modern city of Rome are situated many not explored treasures, which help us to understand the development of the city. Moreover we have the possibility to enjoy art of remote time.



  • St. Mary Major – underground

    “Hic fecit basilicam nomini suo iuxta Macellum Liviae”

    With these words the Liber Pontificalis reports on the Roman Basilica St Mary Major, which according to legend was built by Pope Liberio in 352 on the spot where, on the 5th of August in that year, there was a miraculous snowfall.

    Again, according to the book of the popes (Liber Pontificalis) the Basilica was built around the Macellum Liviae, a big butcher’s market.
    The excavations carried out under the Basilica between 1966 and 1971 uncovered the perimeter of a Roman building with frescoes.


  • Santi Cosma e Damiano

It was built in the “barbarous epoch” to the ancient Biblioteca Pacis, the library of the Peace Forum and decorated with a beautiful apse mosaic, which is one of the most ancient church mosaics in Rome. In the 3rd century the temple was dedicated to Penati and later to two oriental doctors. In the 17th century began the transformations of the great baroque artist Gianlorenzo Bernini.









  • San Clemente
  • 300 meters from the Colosseum away, behind the ruins of the gladiator school, is situated the Basilica of San Clemente. It is one of the most interesting churches in Rome, especially under archaeological aspects. San Clemente consists of two superposed churches; the crypt was found on two layers of Roman houses from the 1st and 2nd century AD., which served as base for the 4th century Basilica.

 








  • Catacombs

The early Christian cemeteries were all along the consular roads outside the old city walls, as statutory at that time. Few of the nearly 60 catacombs can be seen today. The vein systems extend up to four levels with up to 500,000 graves per catacomb. Along the Via Appia are the catacombs of San Callisto and San Sebastiano, along Via Ardeatina we find the Catacombs of Domitilla and Santa Priscilla along the Via Salaria. The catacombs were used until the 5th century as burial sites; three centuries they were the target of Christian pilgrims.




 



Please contact me for any further information.


Your Carpediem guide in Rome

Sandra Haarmann

Ihr privater Stadtführer in Rom

Das versteckte Rom


Unter der Oberfläche Roms befinden sich noch viele unentdeckte Schätze, die uns helfen, die Entwicklung der Stadt zu verstehen und Kunstobjekte vergangener Zeiten zu bewundern.

 



  • Ausgrabungen unter Santa Maria Maggiore

    „Hic fecit basilicam nomini suo iuxta Macellum Liviae“

    So berichtet uns das Liber Pontificalis über die römische Basilika Santa Maria Maggiore, die der Legende nach von Papst Liberio (352-366) auf dem Ort entstanden sein soll, wo am 5. August 352 ein wundersamer Schneefall niederfiel.

    Die Basilika, laut des Buches der Päpste, wurde in der Nähe des Macellum Liviae, also eines großen Schlachtmarktes errichtet. Die Ausgrabungen, die in den Jahren 1966 – 1971 aufgrund von Feuchtigkeit in der Basilika durchgeführt wurden, ließen ein römisches Gebäude ersehen, von dem wir allerdings nur den Umriss kennen.


 


  • Santi Cosma e Damiano

    Sie wurde in der “barbarischen Epoche” in die antike Biblioteca Pacis, die Bibliothek des Friedensforums gebaut und mit einem außergewöhnlich schönen Apsismosaik geschmückt, das eines der antiksten Kirchenmosaiken in Rom ist. Im 3. Jahrhundert wurde der Tempel den Penati und später zwei orientalischen Ärzten geweiht. Im 17. Jahrhundert nahm der große Barockkünstlers Gianlorenzo Bernini dann große Umgestaltungen vor.



  • San Clemente

    300 Meter vom Kolosseum entfernt liegt hinter den Überresten der Gladiatorenschule die Basilika San Clemente. Sie gehört zu den interessantesten Kirchen Roms, insbesondere unter archäologischen Gesichtspunkten. San Clemente besteht aus zwei übereinanderliegenden Kirchen; die Unterkirche wurde auf zwei Schichten römischer Häuser aus dem 1. Und 2. Jh nach Christus gefunden, die als Fundamente für die aus dem 4. Jh stammende untere Basilika dienten.



  • Katakomben

    Die frühchristlichen Friedhöfe lagen alle entlang der Konsularstraßen außerhalb der alten Stadtmauern, so wie es das römische Gesetz damals vorschrieb. Nur wenige der insgesamt fast 60 Katakomben sind heute zu besichtigen. Die Gangsysteme erstrecken sich bis zu vier Ebenen mit bis zu 500.000 Gräbern pro Katakombe. Entlang der Via Appia befinden sich die Katakombe von San Callisto und San Sebastiano, an der Via Ardeatina finden wir die Katakombe von Domitilla oder Santa Priscilla entlang der Via Salaria.
    Die Katakomben dienten bis zum 5. Jahrhundert als Begräbnisstätten; drei weitere Jahrhunderte lang waren sie das Ziel christlicher Pilger.



Für Fragen stehe ich gerne unter *Kontakt* zur Verfügung.



Ihr Carpediem Stadtführer in Rom

Sandra Haarmann