Your private city guide in Rome

print-ranke

 

Ancient Rome


rom stadtfuehrer - rome guide - das antike rom


In antiquity the Colosseum was not known by that name; the Romans called it the Anfitheatre Flavia. It was only in the early middle ages that it became known as the Colosseum from a gigantic statue in bronze of Nero found nearby the anfitheatre. It was inaugurated in the year 80 a.d. with games, gladiator compititions and animal spectacles that lasted more than 100 days. All were completely involved in these celebrations, from the most important public figures to humble slaves.


The Roman Forum was the political and economic centre of ancient Rome. In the times of Romulus and Remus the area of the forum was marshland and it was the Etruscans who drained the land and built the Cloaca Maxima. In later years the most important public and commemorative monuments and temples were built there. Triumphal marches filed along the Via Sacra (Holy Way) on their way to the Temple of Jupiter on the Capitoline Hill.


The Capitoline Hill, the smallest of the seven hills of Rome was an area exclusively dedicated to the temples. According to the chronicles the temple of Jupiter, Juno and Minerva was initiated by the Etruscan kings and inaugurataed in the year 509 b.c. on the first day of Roman Republic.


It was in the Renaissance that Rome once more became a cultural and artistic centre thanks to the popes who brought the greatest artists of the time and commissioned the works of art we enjoy today. The present aspect of the Capitoline Hill was created by Michelangelo in 1536 and inspite of its modest proportions it transmits an impression of grandeur and harmony. The square is enclosed by the famous Capitoline museum, considerated to be the world’s first museum. The statue of Mark Aurelio, the only surviving equestrian statue from antiquity, dominates the centre of the square.


Let youself be drawn back to Roman times and experience how people lived and survived in the city.


For further informations please feel free to contact me.


Your Carpediem Guide in Rome

Dr. Sandra Haarmann

Ihr privater Stadtführer in Rom

print-ranke

Das antike Rom


rom stadtfuehrer - rome guide - das antike rom


Niemand nannte das Kolosseum mit diesem Namen in der Antike. Es wurde von den Römern Amphitheater Flavia genannt. Erst zu Beginn des Mittelalters nahm man den Namen Kolosseum an, der auf die gigantische Statue (Kolossalstatue) des Kaisers Nero zurückgeht. Das Kolosseum wurde im Jahre 80 n.Chr. mit Spielen, die über 100 Tage dauerten, eingeweiht. Alle grossen Persönlichkeiten der Antike erlebten hier Tierjagden, Gladiatorenkämpfe und liessen sich von der jubelnden Menge mitreissen.


Das Forum Romanum ist das alte Stadtzentrum, das politische und repräsentative Zentrum des Antiken Roms. Der einst sumpfige Bezirk diente ursprünglich als Bestattungsort. Die Etrusker entwässerten das Gelände durch die sog. Cloaca Maxima. In der Folgezeit wurden  hier die wichtigsten Tempel, öffentliche Bauten und Denkmäler gebaut, und über die Via Sacra (die Heilige Straße) zogen mit großem Pomp die Triumphzüge Richtung Kapitolshügel.


Das Kapitol, der kleinste der sieben Hügel Roms, war als zentraler heiliger Bezirk der Stadt ausschließlich Tempelbauten vorbehalten. Die Tempel des Jupiter Optimus, der Juno und der Minerva wurden nach der Überlieferung noch zur Zeit der Etruskerkönige begonnen und 509 v.Chr., im Geburtsjahr der Republik, eingeweiht. Das Kapitol war das religiös-politische Zentrum und Herzstück des antiken Rom.


Erst mit der Renaissance erlangte Rom dank der Päpste, die die größten Künstler der Zeit in die Stadt holten, wieder den Rang eines Zentrums der Kunst und Kultur. Die heutige Gestalt des Kapitolplatzes geht auf Michelangelos Entwurf von 1536 zurück. Trotz bescheidener Dimensionen vermittelt er den Eindruck von Größe und Harmonie. Begrenzt wird der Platz vom Palazzo dei Conservatori und vom Palazzo Capitolino, heute Museen. In der Mitte des Platzes thront das bronzene Reiterstandbild Marc Aurels, das im 16. Jahrhundert vom Lateran hierher geschafft wurde.


Tauchen Sie mit ein in die Antike und erleben Sie, wie die alten Römer im korrupten Rom ihr Leben meisterten.


Bitte kontaktieren Sie mich für weitere Informationen.


Ihr Carpediem Stadtführer in Rom Sandra Haarmann